A London apartment tailored to perfection

What began as a characterless white flat in a newly built block has now been transformed into an elegant city bolthole, rich in colour, texture and style

The owners had two stipulations when they began looking for a London flat two years ago: it had to be within easy walking distance of Covent Garden and the wider area that makes up the north bank of the River Thames, and it had to have sufficient space to allow for comfortable entertaining.

THE PROPERTY

The couple, who split their time between the capital and a Georgian house in the country, eventually decided to buy a smart apartment with glorious full-height windows, within a newly built block that answered their needs perfectly. However, the empty ‘white box’ presented challenges of its own, prompting the couple to engage the services of interior designer Katie Goring, who helped them realise their dream of an elegant yet functional London home.

LIVING ROOM

The owners worked with interior designer Katie Goring to carefully craft this open-plan room, ensuring that every detail looked good from every angle. The dark painted feature wall provides the perfect backdrop for treasured artwork by Slovenian artist Jože Ciuha. ‘We have a few of his pieces and part of Katie’s brief was to display them to their best advantage,’ explains Nick. ‘Ciuha lived on the island of Sipan, which is a favourite of ours, so these are very special.’

London apartment Covent Garden

Get the look: Bespoke extending dining table, Hyde House, hydehouse.co.uk. Addison II armchair (by mirror), £5,652, Michael Reeves Design, michaelreeves design.com. Armchair in Mazely in Silver, £66m, Colefax and Fowler, colefax.com. Acrylic artwork (on right), Relton Marine, reltonmarine.com. Interior design, Katie Goring, Studio Goring, studiogoring.com.

London apartment Covent Garden

Get the look: For artwork by Jože Ciuha, try Invaluable, invaluable.co.uk. Feature wall in Down Pipe estate emulsion, £45 for 2.5L, Farrow & Ball, farrow-ball.com. Simon lounge chairs in Pearl, £643 each; Element coffee table, £1,417, both Camerich, camerich.co.uk. Holmes tray in Faux Shagreen, £195, Forwood Design, forwooddesign.com.

KITCHEN

The kitchen that came as standard has been transformed with brick-format marble tiles, which were simply applied to the existing white tiles. Glass and copper pendants and wooden-topped spice jars add warmth. 

London apartment Covent Garden

Get the look: Lovell glass pendant lights in Antiqued Brass, £137.60 each, Jim Lawrence, jim-lawrence.co.uk. Febo chairs in Beta leather, £1,226 each, B&B Italia, bebitalia.com. Polo bar stool, £655, Robert Langford, robertlangford.co.uk. Bar stool in Bull’s Eye leather in Mare, £20.90sq ft, Jerry Pair Leather at Chase Erwin, chase-erwin.com. Misty Fjord 20 bevelled tiles, £85sq m, Topps Tiles, toppstiles.co.uk.

HALL

Floor-to-ceiling mirrors with metal detailing not only add a touch of glamour to the built-in utility cupboards but help to open up the narrow space.  

London apartment Covent Garden

Get the look: Bespoke mirrors, Mirror World, mirrorworld.co.uk.

GUEST BEDROOM

The extra slim bespoke console table  ensures that this compact room does not feel cluttered, while the seat in the corner can be used as a dining chair when required.

London apartment Covent Garden

Get the look: Bespoke console table, JMW Furniture, jmwfurniture.co.uk. Joanne dining chair, £734, Robert Langford, robertlangford.co.uk. Chair in Tummel Sloe, made to order, The Isle Mill, islemill.com. Artwork by Patrick Plattier, plattier.com.

MAIN BEDROOM

This soothing scheme is complemented by a pair of bronze figures, which Katie sourced and had mounted on tall plinths to fill this particular space. Accents of geometric pattern add further interest, while the bedside tables were chosen for their stylish design and also because they match the height of the bed perfectly. 

London apartment Covent Garden

Get the look: Customised bronze figures, Ecco Trading, eccotrading.com. Anna bedside tables, £1,105.20 each, Julian Chichester, julianchichester.com. Small Salperton lamp base in Decayed Silver, £780; shade, £184, both Porta Romana, portaromana.com. Shade covered in Bing in Viola, £138m, James Malone Fabrics, jamesmalonefabrics.com.

London apartment Covent Garden

Get the look: Front cushion in Felicita in Blue Thistle, £220m, Jim Thompson Fabrics, jimthompsonfabric.com. Feature wall in Railings estate emulsion, £45 for 2.5L, Farrow & Ball, farrow-ball.com.

Photography ⁄  Jan Baldwin

Interior Design ⁄  Katie Goring

MORE FROM H&G