We love: Proper Hotel San Francisco

Sumptuous textiles and smart furnishings update a flat-iron building in a neighbourhood reinvigorated by the arrival of tech companies and tastemakers.

About Proper Hotel San Francisco

Housed in an historic flat-iron building, the Proper Hotel San Francisco offers a luxurious stay in an area of the city revitalised as an innovation hub.

The beaux-arts landmark has been meticulously restored and its heritage showcased with modem design elements. Renowned interior designer Kelly Wearstler has envisioned the rooms and suites as elegant pied-à-terres and decorated with a mix of rich textures, vintage furnishings and expertly clashing prints. Not to be missed is Charmaine’s rooftop bar where you can take in unparalleled views of the city by the Bay.

Layered with deep hues, rich textures and natural materials, the hotel collages a graphic vibrance with vintage design cues from early Modernist, Cubist and Secessionist eras.

See out Out & About section for more travel inspiration

The Proper Hotel San Francisco

Image credit: Grey Crawford

NEED TO KNOW

– Proper’s 131 rooms start at around $400 a night.
– Dine at the sophisticated Villon restaurant, eat informally at La Bande cafe, or enjoy a drink and the view from Charmaine’s rooftop bar.
– If you’re in need of something special, summon the concierge using the hotel’s Proper app.

The Proper Hotel San Francisco

Image credit: Grey Crawford

Proper Hotel, 1100 Market Street, San Francisco, California 94102, USA, 001415 735 7777, properhotel.com.

TAKE IT HOME

Stylish pieces for recreating the hotel’s distinctive monochrome look.

The Proper Hotel San Francisco

Harbour Stripe throw in Grapite and Ecru, £179.95, Tori Murphy, torimurphy.com.

The Proper Hotel San Francisco

Upholstered sleigh bed, £999, West Elm, westelm.co.uk.

The Proper Hotel San Francisco

Rosario wallpaper in Nair, £45 a roll, Designers Guild, designersguild.com.

The Proper Hotel San Francisco

llusion vase, £270, Dan Yeffet for Roche Bobois, roche-bobois.com.

The Proper Hotel San Francisco

Dot lamp, around €605, Kristina Dam, kristinadam.dk.

MORE FROM H&G