A glamorous and festive Edwardian terrace in south-east London

Moody hues and gleaming accents of brass bring subtle glamour to this family house, which was skilfully updated in record time by its interior designer owner.

Multitasking is part and parcel of daily life for the homeowner, who is also an interior designer. Two years ago she upped the ante, however, when she and her husband, decided to completely refurbish their five-bedroom Edwardian home in south-east London. The task was all the more tricky was the owner was expecting their second child.

See our spaces section for more inspiring featured homes

With impeccable timing – the work too just nine months to complete – the couple managed to create a warm and stylish home that not only works perfectly for the family, but is also, as the homeowner reveals, a wonderful showcase for her design ideas.

Edwardian home London

Image credit: Jonathan Gooch

THE PROPERTY

The home was very tired when the owners first bought it. It had been modernised over the years, but nothing seemed to flow. There were different types of flooring, doors, joinery, finishes and electrical fixings. We had a lot of work to do to unify it.

Edwardian home London

Image credit: Jonathan Gooch

DINING ROOM

Deep blue walls make a good foil for brown furniture, adding a refreshing twist to a traditional setting.

Edwardian home London

Charlotte extending table, £1,450, Oka, oka.com. Buffalo side chairs. £295 each, Heal’s, heals.com. Lace Gold plates, from £17.50 each, Vera Wang for Wedgwood, wedgwood.co.uk. Walls in Basalt, Absolute Matt Emulsion, £19.25 for litre, Little Greene, littlegreene.com.

ENTRANCE

The house originally had double doors, which the owner says, ‘weren’t very practical’, so she had a single door designed to look like the original pair.

Edwardian home London

Bespoke front door, from around £1,600, The London Door Company, londondoor.co.uk.

LIVING ROOM

Layers of rich textures and a tartan-covered rocking chair bring a club-like feel to this hospitable room.

Edwardian home London

Ballroom chandeliers, from £475 each, Abigail Ahern, abigailahern.com. Rocking chair in Stirling FR Loden, £79m, Kirkby Design, kirkbydesign.com.

KITCHEN

‘We had quite a small space to work with, so the designer had to think hard to find ways of squeezing everything in,’ says the homeowner.

Edwardian home London

Kitchen design, Humphrey Munson, humphreymunson.co.uk. Brass tap, Rudge & Co, rudgeandco.com.

Edwardian home London

Image credit: Jonathan Gooch

DINING ROOM

Useful storage has been created with built-in shelving around the door arch leading to the dining area (below), which is positioned between the family room and the kitchen.

Edwardian home London

Artificial Christmas tree, from £109, Balsam Hill, balsamhill.co.uk.

MAIN BEDROOM

A muted scheme of strong greys and warm gold tones creates a cosseting feel.

Edwardian home London

Headboard upholstered by Norris of Blackheath. Walls in Dark Lead, Absolute Matt Emulsion, £19.25 for 1 litre, Little Greene, littlegreene.com.

BATHROOM

Marble tiles and accents of brass make for an unusually glamorous family bathroom. ‘It wasn’t easy to find traditional-style fittings in this colour,’ says the homeowner.

Edwardian home London

Classic bathroom fittings in Antique Gold, from £281.52 for a pair of basin pillar taps, Lefroy Brooks, lefroybrooks.com. East Hampton Marble tiles, from £1.09 per tile, Fired Earth, firedearth.com.

GUEST BEDROOM

A modern cityscape painting and lime-green accents lift the neutral palette in this comfortable space.

Edwardian home London

Nigel Cooke paintings, from £650, Wyecliffe Galleries, wyecliffe.com.

Photography/ Jonathan Gooch

MORE FROM H&G